How To Get Medical Cannabis If You Live In Illinois

If you are a resident of the state of Illinois and are seeking medical cannabis for your medical condition, it is possible to obtain a medical cannabis card. Here is a list of 8 steps to follow in order to purchase medical cannabis in the state of Illinois:

1. Visit your doctor

Cancer patients may obtain medical cannabis.  People with Crohn’s disease, AIDS, Glaucoma, Lupus, MS, Parkinson’s, Rheumatoid arthritis, Traumatic brain injury and other conditions also qualify. Ask your doctor to fill out a certification form and submit it to the Illinois Department of Public Health.

2. Register for an identification card

To get your medical cannabis identification card, submit your application within 90 days of visiting your doctor along with a photo, proof of age, and two pieces of Illinois residency to the medical cannabis registry online.

3. Pay your fees

The application fee is $100 ($50 if you qualify as a veteran, or are on SSDI, SSI).  You’ll also need to get your fingerprints and criminal background check done at a vendor. Bring the Fingerprint Consent form with you and submit it along with your application.

4. Designate a caregiver (optional)

You can designate a caregiver to buy cannabis for you. Each caregiver can only serve one patient and will also need to register. Minors may also apply for an identification card and will need a parent or legal guardian to serve as his or her caregiver.

5. Select your home dispensary

You can buy your cannabis at a dispensary based on your home district which is indicated on your application form.  The dispensaries will be listed online as they become registered.  Home growing is not permitted. More dispensaries are expected to open in the fall of 2015. Read our article on how to locate a dispensary nearest to you here.

6. Choose your product

Illinois dispensaries will sell medical cannabis concentrates, tinctures, topicals, edibles, and products to use for smoking or vaping.

7. Know your limits

You can buy 2.5 ounces of cannabis every two weeks, or ask for a waiver from your doctor that a larger supply is needed for that period.

8. Follow the law

You are not allowed to use your cannabis while driving, in schools, school buses, cars, child care agencies, in public view, or in state or local government buildings. Make sure to look out for no smoking signs and do not smoke your cannabis where smoking is prohibited.

Do you have any other tips for obtaining a medical cannabis card in Illinois? Comment below.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

FOLLOW HEALTHMJ TODAY

6,398FansLike
8,155FollowersFollow
86FollowersFollow
2,882FollowersFollow
15,795FollowersFollow
42SubscribersSubscribe

Latest Cannabis Guides

Best CBD Gummies: Top 25 Product Rankings for 2020 to Review

Finding the best CBD gummies in 2020 requires proper research, personal due diligence and actual investigative analysis to ensure quality, potency and effectiveness. Yes, CBD...

Best CBD Drinks: Top 100 CBD Oil-Infused Beverages in 2020

Best CBD Drinks in 2020: Top CBD Waters, Teas, Kombuchas, Coffees and Sports Nutrition Beverages CBD drinks. Finally! After decades of marijuana prohibition, and years of...

Top 11 Best CBD Pet Products in 2020

Everyone’s talking about the health benefits of CBD oil and touting its health benefits. However, did you know that there are CBD products that...